current affairs

Nobel Prize Winners 2019

Nobel prize was awarded in every year on 10th December in the field of physics, chemistry, Medicine, Literature, Peace and Economics. The awards are presented in Stockholm, Sweden in an annual ceremony on December 10, the anniversary of Nobel's death except peace prize.Nobel Peace Prize will be given at Oslo, Norway.
You can find here a complete List Nobel Prize winners 2019.

Nobel Prize Physics 2019:

The Nobel Prize in Physics is a yearly award given to those who have made the most outstanding contributions for mankind in the field of physics.

Three Persons are awarded for Nobel Prize Physics 2019. They are

  1. James Peebles
  2. Michel Mayor
  3. Didier Queloz

Canadian-American cosmologist James Peebles and Swiss astronomers Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz have shared this year's Nobel Prize in Physics "for theoretical discoveries that have contributed to our understanding of how the Universe evolved after the Big Bang".

Nobel Prize Chemistry 2019:

Three Persons are awarded for Nobel Prize Chemistry 2019. They are

  1. John B Goodenough
  2. Stanley Whittingham
  3. Akira Yoshino

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to scientists in the various fields of chemistry.

This year, John B Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino have won Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing the lithium-ion batteries. These batteries are today used in everyday items; from mobile phones to remote controls and even electric vehicles.

Nobel Prize Medicine 2019:

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded yearly by the Nobel Foundation for outstanding discoveries in the fields of life sciences and medicine.

Three Persons are awarded for Nobel Prize Medicine 2019. They are

  1. William Kaelin
  2. Gregg Semenza
  3. Peter Ratcliffe

William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of the US and Britain's Peter Ratcliffe split the nine million Swedish kronor ($914,000, 833,000 euros) award this year.

The award was awarded for discoveries on how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability, paving the way for new cancer treatments.

Nobel Prize Literature 2019:

 Austrian novelist Peter Handke have received Nobel Prize for Literature2019.

Polish author Olga Tokarczuk have received 2018 Nobel Prize for Literature. The prize was postponed in 2018 after the academy was hit by a sexual assault scandal.

Peter Handke is an apologist for genocide within living memory, at the heart of Europe.

Olga Nawoja Tokarczuk is a Polish writer, activist, and renowned intellectual who has been described as one of the most critically acclaimed and commercially successful authors of her generation.

Nobel Prize Peace 2019:

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize this year "for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea.

Nobel Prize Economics 2019:

Three Persons are awarded for Nobel Prize Medicine 2019. They are

  1. Abhijit Banerjee
  2. Esther Duflo
  3. Michael Kremer

Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee, his wife Esther Duflo, and Michael Kremer are sharing the Economics Nobel prize 2019 for their "experimental approach to alleviating global poverty".

Abhijit Banerjee was one of the advisors to Congress on its ambitious NYAY scheme, proposed ahead of 2019 general elections.

Abhijit Banerjee had also criticised India's currency note swap programme called demonetization saying that the pain would be much greater than was initially anticipated.


<< Previous
Nobel Prize Winners 2019